The Alberta Industrial Fire Protection Association (AIFPA) was formed in the fall of 1989 to promote awareness of industrial fire protection and emergency management by information sharing and joint problem solving to minimize damage, loss and injury throughout the industry in the Province of Alberta.

The founding organizers and members of the AIFPA were Len Freeman (Dow Chemicals) and Brian Lamond (Syncrude Canada). Along with founding organizers Len and Brian, attending the first meeting was Arnie Quinton (Imperial Oil), Wayne Conley (Suncor Energy Inc.) and Allan Wood (Agrium Inc.) which was held at the Alberta Public Safety Services Building, in Edmonton.

Today the group meets diligently twice a year and is over 100 member companies strong with representation from Oil and Gas, Pulp and Paper, Mining, Forestry, Manufacturing, Training, Independent Emergency Responders, Equipment and Supply Companies, Consultants, Municipal Emergency Response, and Government Agencies. AIFEMA also has members from outside the province from companies such as Spectra Energy (Fort St. John, BC), Husky Energy (Lloydminster, SK) and Consumers Cooperative Refineries (Regina, SK). AIFEMA also maintains affiliations with the Alberta Emergency Management Agency (AEMA), Alberta Municipal Affairs, Office of the Fire Commissioner (Alberta), Alberta Fire Chiefs Association (AFCA) and National Fire Protection Association (NFPA).

On January 1, 2016, the Association changed its’ name to the Alberta Industrial Fire and Emergency Management Association (AIFEMA).


Wayne Rose
Coordinator, Emergency Response and Security
Pembina Pipeline Corporations
Bus: 780-912-2786
Cell: 780-720-1703

Vice President

Jason Linton
Emergency Services Advisor
Methanex Corporation
Bus: 403-527-8141 ext. 129
Cell: 403-506-8857

Past President

Shawn Hare
Emergency Services Coordinator
Sunrise Energy Project – Oil Sands

Bus: 780-749-3304
Cell: 780-8383271


Kerri Sinclair
Business Development
Lakeland Emergency Training Centre
Bus: 780-581-2038
Cell: 780-581-0553